Siege and Storm – Can I Kill the Chosen One?

blog post

Goodreads Synopsis: Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

 

I read this book a few months back but realized I never wrote a review about it, so here that is now. 🙂

Siege and Storm is the second book in a trilogy that combines adventure and fantasy, which is always a fun genre.  I definitely enjoyed all the details about the world, and even gave this book an extra star just because of it.  Leigh Bardugo is a really great world-building writer. Her story is rich in detail and the magic system is pretty well done.

So why Abi, I’m sure you’re asking now, why did you only give it 2 stars?

I know. I’m a terrible person. I know a lot of people really like this book and trilogy, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book and I liked this book even less.  Here are my reasons why.

1)   Alina: The main character, hero, blah blah blah. She was about as interesting as a log of wood. This book she’s supposed to be fighting the side of her that wants power. She’s supposed to be doing more ”bad guy” like things but honestly she’s just a whiney little bitch.  She follow the trope that happens in most ”chosen one” books, where she loves someone but always chooses them over actually saving the day. It was like she was always sabotaging herself. For example, the character Nikolai is helping Alina but he has a rivalry with Mal (the love interest because where would we be in YA without a love triangle). Now you would think in this instance you would take your boyfriend aside and tell him to shut the hell up so everyone can work together. But no instead she keeps threatening Nikolai who’s literally the only one who can help at the moment.  Saying things like: “Don’t keep pushing him Nikolai. Loose Mal and you’ll lose me too.” Now I get that some characters are like this. But I feel like it happens in every single YA chosen one story. And I really need it to stop.

2) Mal: He is an asshole this entire book. He’s so selfish and treats Alina badly and I disliked him a lot.

3) Pretty Much Everything Else: The rest of the plot, the rest of the characters, Nikolai, the “big bad guy”, it was just all so boring.  Don’t kill me for saying this but the plot just felt like every other plot for a fantasy chosen one save the day story.

Like I said early I gave this book 2 stars on Goodreads.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who dislikes this book? What are your thoughts on it? 

2 thoughts on “Siege and Storm – Can I Kill the Chosen One?”

  1. I’ve been strongly recommended the first book and the premise intrigues me, but I already had mixed feelings about it and the Chosen One storyline has already been rehashed so many times…

    2 stars? That must have been a torturous read.

    1. The first book wasn’t too bad, I definitely liked parts of it. I know right? The Chosen One can be done well, it’s just not though in so many stories. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

