Devolution – Reading More Graphic Novels

28489458

Goodreads Synopsis: Every living creature on Earth has been devolved – the evolutionary clock turned back, reverting all life to odd mutations and prehistoric incarnations. The cities of man are little more than bloody territories ruthlessly dominated by tribal Neanderthals ruling from the backs of mammoths, packs of saber-toothed tigers, and giant man-eating insects. Writer Rick Remender (Black Science, Fear Agent), artist Jon Wayshak (The Authority), and colorist Jordan Boyd (Ant-Man, Planet Hulk) take you on a journey with the last band of “Still Sapien” humans in the hope of locating an antidote and re-evolving the human race.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

Publication Date August 23 2016.

This was definitely an interesting read. And honestly I didn’t decided that I liked it till almost the end of the story.

The first thing I noticed was the art style. It looked different from any of the other styles I’ve seen before, which was cool of course. I love the diversity of art in graphic novels. For Devolution I didn’t like the style as much as I have in other books but at the same time I felt like it fit with the story.  The world of Devolution is a primitive harsh and ugly world. And I felt like the art was trying to reflect the more harsh more simplistic look. I don’t mean this in a bad way at all, it worked well for the story.

Devolution starts out introducing our main character Raja.   Raja is a great character. She is strong, beautiful and kick ass. She faces the problems of fighting through ape men and even fighting against the last few ”sapiens”.  Raja is a very relatable character. I’m trying not to give spoilers away but I loved her motivation for trying to find the antidote. And like I said earlier I didn’t really like Devolution till the end, when there’s a huge plot twist which was brilliant.  I felt like the twist gave the story quite the push away from stereotypical ”tyring to find the cure for humanity” story.

This is an adult graphic novel, there’s swearing and sexual content. For those of you who don’t like that stuff beware.  If Devolution was a movie it would probably be rated R.

I would recommend this story to people who like end of the world, save humanity stories. I am also planning on reading the next in the series, when it comes out. I gave Devolution 4 stars on Goodreads and was given a copy of this graphic novel from Netgalley in exchange for a fair review.

Leave a Reply

