Monstress – Chapter 2

27279102.jpg

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

 Goodreads Synopsis: Maika fights to cross the wall. Elsewhere, the Warlord makes her move.

This is the second chapter in the first volume of Monstress. Just a week ago I reviewed the first chapter here. 

The plot is definitely getting thicker in this chapter. Maika is on the move and is struggling with the consequences of opening something she shouldn’t have. This review won’t have spoilers, so I apologize if it’s a bit short.

I loved this next chapter for the most part. Maika is a great character, and we see more of her back story in this chapter.  We also have a cute kid that Maika has saved as well as a two tailed cat that are the main characters in this chapter.  And again the art is phenomenal. I think the colors for Monstress are really well done, the greys and blacks and browns seem like it would make for a darker world. But it’s really quite interesting how it’s not.

Monstress has magical creatures and witches in it, which seems like it could be cliche. But I’m really enjoying how well done the world is.  These witches are different than anything I’ve read before, and they’re really scary!  This comic definitely isn’t for the faint heart. Sometimes I find myself cringing just a little at the blood and intense scenes.

I’m super excited to read more in this comic book. I think it’s really well written and illustrated. I gave this book four stars on Goodreads, and I was given this copy of Monstress from NetGalley in exchange for a fair review.

 

2 thoughts on “Monstress – Chapter 2”

Leave a Reply

