Writer’s Life Tag

So I wasn’t tagged directly in this but I saw it on a friend’s blog and thought it looked fun. So here we go!

Write-fuel: What do you eat/drink while writing?

It depends. I actually don’t have a go to writing snack or drink. My life is just generally full of tea and snacks. Especially now in the fall because I’m baking all the apple and pumpkin things.  🙂

Write-sounds: What do you listen to while writing?

For me it depends on the book or story I’m writing. I listen to everything. Like now for instance I’m listening to soundtrack from the movie Carol. I like soundtracks, mostly piano ones not so much the epic scores. But I also listen to music with words. I have a story playlist that has a very R&B sound with Pop mixed in.  Another playlist as indie singers such as Daughter and Aurora.  I usually put together a playlist that I feel mirrors the tone of the book.

Write-vice: What’s your most debilitating distraction?

The internets. For sure. 😀 Facebook, Twitter, etc…

Write-horror: What’s the worst thing that’s ever happened to you while writing?

I’ve lost up to a thousand words at times because of computers being butts or internet cutting out or whatever. That’s always the worst. I’ve thought I’ve saved drafts only to see that my google doc wasn’t connecting well and thoughts paragraphs of words. It’s always so hard to loose words!

Write-joy: What’s the best thing that’s ever happened to you while writing, or how do you celebrate small victories?

It’s so hard to pick a ”best” thing. There are so many great things about writing. The feeling of finishing a story. The feeling of seeing a story in print, knowing people are reading it. It’s so rewarding.

Write-crew: Who do you communicate with or not communicate with while writing?

Grant, my husband whose also a writer, is the pretty much the only one I talk to while writing.  He’s my best idea bouncer, even if it’s just me spewing things out to him and he’s just listening. He reads my stories, no matter how strange or creative I’ve written them. He edits, he challenges and celebrates with me. 🙂

Write-secret: What’s your writing secret to success or hidden flaw?

Hidden (or not) flaw would definitely be procrastination and how easily I get distracted. Ideas flow fast and furious and it’s hard to not get distracted by the next shiny plot idea.

As for my secret to success…I’ve really thought about this before, but now that I do I think that having Grant is the only way I get things done. He loves my writing and is so encouraging. He’s there to help motivate when I need it, or tell me to take a break or just to listen when I complain about tiresome characters.

Write-spiration: What always makes you productive?

Documentaries. When I’m feeling uninspired with a plot hole or even when I think I have nothing to write. A good life documentary, or reading a memoir always helps.

Write-peeve: What’s one thing writers do (or you do) that’s annoying?

I find it annoying that I get so distracted. I just want to finish more things. I’m working on getting better at staying focused.

Write-words: Share one sentence from a project, past or present.

Here is a small poem that I wrote the other day.

Personal drivers/Catch me asleep in my own bed/Maybe I shouldn’t have left the window /Open/But I was catching starfish late into/The night.

6 Comments

  1. Hurray, you did the tag! This was fun to read. 🙂

    Apple and pumkin things!

    Ugh, losing writing is the worst. :-/

    Yessss to finishing a story! 😀

    That’s great your husband helps out like that! My sister listens to all my stuff and she is my creative-bouncer-off-er sort of person. It’s awesome having someone like that!

    Yes to procrastination/distraction and all of the ideas. Such a problem. XD

    Wow, I never would have thought of documentaries/memoirs as inspiring writing. o.o I’ve never been into them since they sound dry to me, but that’s great they work for you! I like hearing people’s different tecniques. 🙂

    • Yes I did! Thanks for doing it first! 😀
      YES. ❤
      yup 😦
      Yay!
      Yeah it really is, I don't know what I would do without him. That's awesome you have your sister!
      😀
      Some of them can be very dry, I totally understand. I find them…soothing? I love learning about real people who had real struggles. It makes me feel like I'm not quite so far behind in life. 😀

Leave a Reply

