50k in 3 Days – The Aftermath

I woke up this morning exhausted. Well actually I woke up several times this morning. After not being able to sleep till 1 in the morning, I woke up at 4, 5 and 6 with my head pounding and my nose stuffy.  This really wasn’t how I was expecting Sunday to go, but sometimes you just have to roll with the punches.

Friday Grant and I started off on an insane adventure. We decided it would be buckets of fun to attempt to write 50,000 words in three days. By Friday we had 18,000. By last night I was at  34,004.  This morning  I was falling in and out of restless sleep, and when I got up at 9 and found that Grant was 2k ahead of me I let him convince to me stop.

Trying to write 50k in 3 days is one of the most insane things I’ve ever done, and even though I only made it a little over halfway I’m really happy with what I accomplished. As I sit here writing about my experience Grant is still going strong and has made it to 40k, all on one story too! As for me I wrote 20k on a novel and the rest on three short stories. All of which I hope to start editing later this week.  The novel was set in a science fiction world, with laser guns and memories being stolen and sold on the black market. The short stories were about college students bonding over finishing school, a woman being caught up in a religious visionary experience, and an absurdist fiction story in the style of Whittgenstein’s Mistress. 

I plan to rest today. My fingers hurt, my English skills have been all over the place, and my head feels like I’ve torn every story idea from it. I’m very happy to leave this computer after I finish this blog post. I’m going to pick up a book, turn on a tv show and drink copious amounts of tea.

I probably won’t be trying this again. But like all experiments, I am left feeling better for trying. Writing 50,000 words in 8 days is much more manageable and I really liked doing that. Maybe someday I’ll try in five days. 😉

I hope you all have a great weekend!

9 Comments

  1. Wow, you are amazing. O_O Trying 50K in 3 days (not 30 as it appears in the title?) is INCREDIBLE. 34K is more than I could ever get done in two or three days — YOU DID AWESOME!!! 😀 But also good call to take off and rest. I hope you get some good relaxing time — you totally earned it! 🙂 Best of luck to your hubby too! I’m in awe of you both for all your writing. That’s awesome. 😀 Thank you for sharing! Now go relax. 😉

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | Rambling Writer

Leave a Reply

