Promoting Creativity – Jessica

After a short break I am now back with Promoting Creativity (which I’m thinking about renaming, anyone have suggestions?)  This month I had the pleasure of interview my friend and fellow writer, Jessica! Hope you all enjoy reading it. 🙂

1) Tell us a little bit about what you do.

What I do, well, currently I am a student. Starting in 2017 I will have three years left. YAY! As for a job, I work for a company called Thresholds. The company runs just under twenty homes for the developmentally disabled. So, depending on who asks me what I do for a living, I tell them I do shit. Literally. Depending on the home I will either take someone out to go see a movie or I will be changing someone’s brief. But enough about that. Besides being a student and a worker, I’m also a missionary. I’ve been to India, Mexico, Ecuador, and the Philippines. The Philippines was my very first medical mission trip. Let me see….I play the guitar, I write when I can, LOVE Netflix, I sing, I read a TON, and I take 3 mile walks like everyday! Everyday! I think I got that question covered.
2) When and why did you start writing?

Writing was always a way to get my feelings out and not actually talk to someone about it. Especially my parents. So my writing really started out as a diary, which became a friend as I never really had any. I keep all of my diaries and I think my first one is dated back to 2009/2010. Later I thought I’d try if I could write a story. I always loved writing papers in school, so why not outside of school. I’ve completed two books, but they need a lot of editing.

3) Tell us about a project that you are currently working on that has you really excited.

I’m working on a book about a young boy who solves cases for dead people. I know what your thinking, I’m copying off of “Ghost Whisperer”. Not really. Actually I didn’t even have the show in mind when I started writing the book. I haven’t finished it, but I’m nearing the end. It’s intended to be a series. Outside of writing, I’m working on writing my own songs with my guitar. I’ve actually written a few. Again, the lyrics tell how I feel and say a story.

4) What are some of your goals for the future?

To get through this semester and transfer to Lansing Community College. Survive the next three years. Get a job as an ASL interpreter. Grow stronger with my boyfriend. Grow stronger in my faith. Get married and have kids. And go to Africa!

5) How can we support you?

Well, advice on how to get a book published would be great! No clue on how to do that. Prayers, lots of prayers. Support in my fundraisers would great as well. My job does not pay enough considering I’m a student and a missionary. Both cost an arm and a leg. Guess I have lots of those.

Don’t forget to check out Jessica’s blog! 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

