Baker’s Magic

26807978.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Bee is an orphan, alone in a poor, crumbling kingdom. In desperation, she steals a bun from a bakery, and to her surprise, the baker offers her a place at his shop. As she learns to bake, Bee discovers that she has a magical power. When a new friend desperately needs her help against an evil mage, Bee wonders what an orphan girl with only a small bit of magic can do. Bee’s journey to help her friend becomes a journey to save the kingdom, and a discovery of the meaning of family.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

Baker’s Magic, is a brilliant idea. Everybody loves baking, reading about cookies and cake makes a for a delightful afternoon.  The characters are great and the plot as well. Bee is a lovely girl, and the plot is quite whimsical.

Baker’s Magic is a longer story that I expected, I had a digital copy but the one I found at my library was 330 pages. This isn’t something I was expecting as the book is meant for kids ages 8-12. I’m not at all saying that middle grade books shouldn’t be long like this, it just surprised me.

I was also surprised at the tone of the book. The overall writing felt like it would go back and forth between being a much younger book to an older middle grade book. Because of the tone I found it hard to enjoy Baker’s Magic quite as much as I could have. But overall it was an enjoyable afternoon that I spent reading it.

I gave Baker’s Magic three stars on Goodreads and I was given a copy of this book by NetGalley in exchange for a fair review.

 

4 thoughts on “Baker’s Magic”

Leave a Reply

