Juliet Immortal – Book Review

9972882.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Juliet Capulet didn’t take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, who made the sacrifice to ensure his own immortality. But Romeo didn’t anticipate that Juliet would be granted eternal life as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light.
For seven hundred years, Juliet has struggled to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent, while Romeo has fought for the dark side, seeking to destroy the human heart. Until now.
Now Juliet has found her own forbidden love, and Romeo, O Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy their happiness.
Secrets unfold and surprises abound in Stacey Jay’s powerfully dark romance, which reunites literature’s most tragic couple.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

This may very well have been a case of it’s not you it’s me. I really didn’t enjoy this book. For one I didn’t like the theme of the book. I do not believe in the concept of a ”one true love” or a “single soulmate” so when I realized that as the whole point of the book I got bored.

Then there was the main character Juliet, whom I felt wasn’t very realistic. She wasn’t angry enough for having been fighting against Romeo for seven hundred years. Also the character of Romeo was a mess, I felt like his motives were unclear and he confused me. The other side characters were difficult to like as well. The best friend was a bitch, and the other guy in the love triangle (ugh) was also not fleshed out enough for me. There was a whole love at first sight idea going on with him and that didn’t interest me at all.

As for the plot…I found myself reaching the end and feeling so confused. I’m honestly not sure what happened or why the ending happened the way it did. The whole thing felt too happy-go-lucky for me.

In the end I gave the book 2 stars.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

