Beauty Queens By Libba Bray

9464733.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: When a plane crash strands thirteen teen beauty contestants on a mysterious island, they struggle to survive, to get along with one another, to combat the island’s other diabolical occupants, and to learn their dance numbers in case they are rescued in time for the competition.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

My thought as I finished this book was “I would have enjoyed this a lot more when I was younger.”  So my review is not going to say this is a bad book, it just wasn’t for me.

Beauty Queens is a book that makes fun of a lot of things, the humor overall was not enjoyable to me. I found myself rolling my eyes instead of laughing. I only remember laughing once at the end when Agent Smith complains about the girls hurting his feelings and referring to them as flower petals. It was interesting to see what happened with his character.

This book does not take itself seriously, and so at times I was very confused as to what was going on. One of the contestants has a plastic tray stuck in her forehead for the entire story, and that’s just outside the realm of believability.

I did very much appreciate the diversity in the cast, the tans girl and her story was really well done, as well as the lesbian and bisexual characters. Though it did feel a bit like Libba Bray just took diversity, poured it in a blender added some humor and called it good.

The most enjoyable part of the story was the end, when the girls use all of the feminine stereotypes to trick the bad guys and win the day. It was the most amusing, and more realistic part. Overall though I was disappointed with the story.  I wish it had taken itself a little more seriously.

I gave Beauty Queens 2 stars on Goodreads. Let me know what you thought of this book!

Leave a Reply

