Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

26109391.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.
Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?
Enter Lisa. Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

I guess I’ll start off by saying this is my first 4 star book of the new year!

I decided to read this book because I saw that it had a main character who was both gay and had anxiety. Or to be more correct he has agoraphobia. And in the theme of reading more diverse books I quickly found it at my library.

Highly Illogical Behavior is a multiple point of view book, switching between Sol and Lisa. Both POV’s were written well and I actually didn’t mind the switching.

Sol’s character is really well written. His problems with agoraphobia were written well, and I really appreciated that. I only have anxiety, but I could easily imagine being in his shoes throughout the book. I also liked it that it was hard for him to work on his fears, and even by the end of the story he isn’t 100% better. But he’s simply in a good place, and he’s feels proud of what he’s done so far.

Lisa’s character was interesting. She could have easily been someone that I hated as she’s using and manipulating Sol in the beginning of the story. But as you learn more about her you understand why she’s doing what she’s doing, though you don’t condone it at all. She also learns that she’s not doing the right thing, and realization was realistic.

The friendship between the three teens is interesting. They have their quirks, and they work well as a team. Sol’s love of star trek and board games was so awesome, and basically he’s just the best character ever.  Lisa, who doesn’t really listen well, definitely makes steps towards growing. And although there were times when her boyfriend Clark felt a little underwritten, and I was never really sure why he was with Lisa, I loved how he became friends with Sol.

Overall I felt like the story was fairly well paced, I loved the characters and found that it was a fairly easy read.  I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

