The Reader By Bernhard Schlink

101299.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

This book was interesting for me to read because I’d actually seen the movie before I read this. And I actually thought the book bland in comparison to the movie.  Don’t worry, no one was more shocked than I to realize that. 😉

The story of Micheal and Hanna is a deep one, a complicated one. Micheal is a teenager and Hanna is an older woman, and yet here they are having an affair and Micheal is falling for her in a way he never falls for anyone else again.
In the book I didn’t feel emotionally connected to either characters. I’ve used the word bland once but I have to use it again because it fits perfectly. Micheal is bland. Hanna is bland, one-sided and possibly emotionally abusive.

I don’t really recommend reading the book honestly.  I gave the book 3 stars, so it’s an okay read. But I would highly recommend the movie. Hanna is played by Kate Winslet, she does a phenomenal job.  I kid you not I sobbed through most of the movie. It’s a powerful story of love and guilt and humans. mv5bmtm0ndqxnja0n15bml5banbnxkftztcwnduwmzcwmg-_v1_.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Reader By Bernhard Schlink”

  1. Wow, that is intriguing! And I think it’s very interesting when the movie is actually better, right?!? I kind of feel a bit creeped out by the romance already though.😂 But I’m glad you enjoyed the movie!!

    1. I think so too. 🙂 Yeah the romance…can it be called a romance? I don’t know. Is definitely interesting. But it plays well with the rest of the story and being set in post war Germany, there’s all of these feelings of guilt for so many things and it’s interesting.

Leave a Reply

