Love Charms and Other Catastrophes By Kimberly Karalius

25819497.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Aspiring love-charm maker Hijiri Kitamura was excited to come back to Grimbaud for her sophomore year—until she learned about the upcoming charm-making competition. She, along with her friends and fellow rebels, had worked too hard to free the town from Zita’s tyrannical love fortunes to allow some other charm maker to move in and take over. The only solution is for Hijiri to win the contest herself.

Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done, especially when Love itself has decided to meddle in Hijiri’s life. Concerned that its favorite charm maker has given up on finding a love of her own, Love delivers a very special gift—the perfect boyfriend, specially crafted just for her.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

I fell head over heels in love for the first book in this duo, so I was very excited to read the second book.

Sadly I found this book fell a little flat. While the world is as magical and fantastic as ever,  I didn’t find myself connecting to the characters quite as much as I wanted to. I never really loved any of them. Hijiri is adorable, and I really wanted to like her. But I found myself too distracted by the rest of the story to find time to connect with characters.

I dislike the idea of ”perfect” boyfriends, soulmates and true loves. I feel that is just a bunch of nonsense. No one is perfect. That’s just all there is to it. Thus I found it hard to believe in Ken, Hijiri’s love interest,  as a character. On top of that I was annoyed with the setup. Hijiri doesn’t want to fall in love, so that fact that Love comes along and decides to force her into it, didn’t sit well with me.  The whole story was based around the premise that “love can fix anything”, and while it can fix somethings, it’s not a magical wand that you can wave and suddenly have your life be perfect.  Life takes work.

Love Charms is an easy read. It’s prose is beautiful, and the world is one of a kind. And if you want just a sappy love story, then by all means, please read this story. If you’re looking for a love story with a little more substance, this probably isn’t the book for you. I did give it three stars though, so I don’t think it’s a terrible story.

Leave a Reply

