Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda By Becky Albertalli

19547856.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.  With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

I had heard so much about this book and how awesome it was, that I was honestly kind of nervous to read Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda.  Thankfully it lived up to all the hype!

From the first few chapters I could tell this book was going to be a four star read. Simon is easily one of the most relatable characters I’ve found in YA, probably since I found Rainbow Rowell’s books.  If you follow me on Goodreads you’ll see I commented only 20% of the way in about how much it was making me feel for the character.  Simon is a great friend, which I really liked and at the same time he’s not perfect. He makes mistakes, he gets angry.  His interactions with Martin are really well written and realistic, even thought at times I was amazed at how well he reacted. It all fit with his character.

Plot-wise everything moved about as I expected it to, but the pacing was still good and I was never taken out of the moment being able to predict anything. I was just too busy wishing Simon the best, and hoping things went well for everyone.

Another good thing about this book are Simon’s parents! Who do not fall into typical YA parent mode of never being around! Which is really nice.  Simon’s parents are honestly quite adorable characters, and their reactions to Simon’s coming out were realistic and well written.

As for the mystery of Blue, I honestly had no idea who it was! I love to be surprised, and when I can’t accurately guess plot twists.  I had a couple of guesses, as did Simon but each time he was proved wrong I was right there with him.  And in the end when all is revealed I have to admit I squealed a little because Simon and Blue are so fricken adorable.

So yes, please read this book! I hope you all love this as much as I did! Also feel free to fangirl with me in the comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

