Heir of Fire By Sarah J. Maas

20613470 (1)

Goodreads Synopsis: Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

This was the book that surprised me by being half decent and getting a three star rating. For those of you who don’t know, I undertook reading the Throne of Glass series because a friend recommended them to me. I’d read the first book before and it wasn’t really memorable, but gave the series another try.  And I ended up disliking most of the series, Heir of Fire is the one exception.

If you take out how unbelievably annoying and stupid Celaena is and her insane amount of angst, then this story is actually half decent.  There are a few characters in here that really made a difference to to the story.  The first is Rowan, who for most of the book I liked. Finally here was a character who doesn’t put up with Celaena’s shit and I really liked that about him. Though towards the end the actually became friends and then he decides she gets free passes again.

The other character that I loved, and actually continued to love till the end of the book is the witch Manon.  She is wonderfully written, she badass, smart and unlike Celaena knows when to actually keep her mouth shut and do what needs to be done. Without whining about it.  She’s an unbelievably strong woman, and in all honestly is what Celeana should have been.  I don’t have enough praise for this character here but that’s because I feel like I could write an entire essay on why she’s so good. I wouldn’t want to bore you all. 😀

So why didn’t this book get a higher rating, you ask? Well because in all, there just wasn’t quite enough to make it an amazing read. There were a lot of really weird sexist things going on with the Fae. All the talk of “mates” and being attracted by “scents” given off from females was just gross. Rowan and Celaena started to like each other, and come on a girl can only have so many love interests before it gets boring. Plus it ruined Rowan’s character.  They started doing weird wordless conversations in each other’s heads, but it wasn’t explained well so mostly I was confused.  Also Maas seems to have an obsession with the description word “purr” but then continually uses it wrong. I think I counted 9 times the word was used wrong.  And finally, again, I could call all the plot twists and “surprises” which made for a boring read. Everything was so obvious.

In the end, I liked the character of Manon enough to give the book a star just for her. Making my rating 3 stars exactly. No more, no less.

4 Comments

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one disappointed with how Celeana’s storyline is going. 😛 Although I’ve quit the series, but Heir of Fire was when it went seriously downhill for me. AND YES IT’S SO SEXIST ARGH. I also hate all the mates and sniffing each other…like it’s super weird??? Ew.

Leave a Reply

