Comic Book Reads In March

In March I ended up going on a comic book binge.  I was able to get a couple through my library (though sadly they don’t carry that many) and I even bought one.  Image comics have become a slight addiction for me. I’ve found so many through this publisher that have the most amazing stories and artwork.  But that’s enough babbling, here are some short reviews for the 5 comics I read in March in no particular order.

25546167.jpg

Descender Vol 1. Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

Goodreads Synopsis: Young Robot boy TIM-21 and his companions struggle to stay alive in a universe where all androids have been outlawed and bounty hunters lurk on every planet. Written by award-winning creator, Jeff Lemire, Descender is a rip-roaring and heart-felt cosmic odyssey. Lemire pits humanity against machine, and world against world, to create a sprawling epic. Created by Jeff Lemire (Sweet Tooth, Trillium) and Dustin Nguyen’s (Little Gotham) critically acclaimed, bestselling new science fiction series!

Collecting: Descender 1-6

The art style for this book is very interesting, the colors are very bright but not in a vibrant “Saga” like way.  These seem more metallic, which fits the atmosphere very well. TIM-21 is a great character, I was engaged by the story though not as enthralled as I hoped to be. It lacked a little originality as far as plot went, I found myself calling plot twists. So I would say this book is a 3 star read. A fun read.

23518316.jpg

Trees Vol 2. Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

Goodreads Synopsis: Ten years after they landed. All over the world. And they did nothing, standing on the surface of the Earth like trees, exerting their silent pressure on the world, as if there were no-one here and nothing under foot. Ten years since we learned that there is intelligent life in the universe, but that they did not recognize us as intelligent or alive.

Trees looks at a near-future world where life goes on in the shadows of the Trees: in China, where a young painter arrives in the “special cultural zone” of a city under a Tree; in Italy, where a young woman under the menacing protection of a fascist gang meets an old man who wants to teach her terrible skills; and in Svalbard, where a research team is discovering, by accident, that the Trees may not be dormant after all, and the awful threat they truly represent.

Now this was an interesting read, but not in the way that I expected. I guess I was looking for more a thriller type story, but this first volume focused a lot on character and the love story. It wasn’t as fast paced as I thought it would be. But it was still good, it had a strong main character and decent world-building.  The art style also wasn’t my favorite.  When I first rated the book I gave it four stars, but now looking back I’m not sure why? And I feel that if it wasn’t memorable enough for me to know why I gave a rating then I should probably move the rating down to three.  I’m going to be reading the next book in the series though, so I definitely wouldn’t tell you not to read this!

30302629.jpg

The Discipline Vol 1. Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

Goodreads Synopsis: Superhot duo Peter Milligan and Leandro Fernández’s controversial story of sex and metamorphosis.
When frustrated Manhattan wife Melissa Peake allows herself to be seduced by a mysterious stranger, she is drawn into an ancient war between The Discipline and the creatures known as The Stalkers…and must discover hitherto unimagined potential within herself to survive. But at what cost?
Whatever you’ve heard about it, won’t prepare you for…The Discipline.

Collecting: The Discipline 1-6

Okay this book was just weird. I mean I was expecting weird, it’s about creatures that change from human forms to monsters with sex and stuff. I don’t know. I was expecting more of a fun read, something along the lines of Sex Criminals.  But this was just weird, hard to follow and I hated the art style.   2 stars.

23200006.jpg

Low Vol 1. Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

Goodreads Synopsis: Millennia ago, mankind fled the earth’s surface into the bottomless depths of the darkest oceans. Shielded from a merciless sun’s scorching radiation, the human race tried to stave off certain extinction by sending robotic probes far into the galaxy to search for a new home among the stars. Generations later, one family is about to be torn apart in a conflict that will usher in the final race to save humanity from a world beyond hope. Dive into an aquatic fantasy like none you’ve ever seen before, as writer Rick Remender (Fear Agent, Uncanny Avengers) and artist Greg Tocchini (Last Days of American Crime) bring you a tale mankind’s final hour in the cold, deathly dark of the sea.
Collecting: Low 1-6

My goodness the art for this comic is amazing. Probably the most stunning work I have ever seen.  I mean this book gets four stars just for that. But on top of the beautiful art, it has a great story to go along. It’s a nearly perfect book. I saw some plot twists coming, and then others I didn’t at all. The world is well done, the characters well done.  The main character is one of those ridiculously optimistic people, but she doesn’t come off as annoying or naive.  Which I thought proved the author has some mad writing skills. Anyway, four stars. Beautiful book, story, everything. Go read it.

25787656.jpg

Injection Vol 1. Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

Goodreads Synopsis: A few years ago, a public/private partnership between the British Government and a multinational company saw five clever people placed in university-owned offices and allowed to do whatever they liked. It was called the Cultural Cross-Contamination Unit, and the idea was that it would hothouse new thinking and new patents. Five actual geniuses, all probably crazy, very eccentric, put in one place and given carte blanche to think about ways to approach and change the future. What Could Possibly Go Wrong? 

Collecting: Injection 1-5

Wow, this was an interesting story.  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first picked it up and it still didn’t turn out how I thought it would. Interesting twists, interesting characters. Well fleshed out characters, it’s very easy to understand and get behind their motives.  And the art is stunning. I really loved all of the green and blue colors and how they were mixed.  4 stars.

Leave a Reply

