Six of Crows By Leigh Bardugo

23437156.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:
Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)
Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)
Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)
Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

It’s amazing how late to the party I am for all of these big YA books. It’s really unfortunate because I have years of hype to listen to and then I read the books and I just don’t feel like they live up most of the time. I promise I do not set out to not love these books. I’m just sadly picky.

So to start out I’ll just say I really liked the character of Kaz for most of the book, he starts off really well but sort of peters out towards the end. I feel like the idea behind his character is really strong. And to be fair it wasn’t his character’s fault, I blame the romance. I also really liked Jesper, I thought his character was adorable and I loved the romance between him and Wylan. It was perfect.  As for the other characters, they were really meh for me. Matthias is a drama king, Nina was okay but the romance between here and Matthias went way too fast. And then Inej was also okay but her romance with Kaz made zero sense from beginning to end.

As far as the plot went, again it was fine, nothing really spectacular. Spoiler, no one dies in the book because the stakes are practically non-existent. I’m sorry if this is cruel for me to want people to die, but when I’m told that a mission is literately impossible, I expect for there to be lasting consequences. Also I felt like once we got into the story, the plot stopped being about pulling off the heist and was more about “how can we pair everyone up and make drama.” Which was frankly boring as hell.

Despite saying all this, I didn’t hate the book. I liked the world, I thought it was written out really well and was unique. I thought Kaz had promise.  And I liked the premise of the book. Heists are always fun to read about.  Sadly Six of Crows, just didn’t live up to all the hype.  3 stars.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

