Truthwitch By Susan Dennard

21414439.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.
Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.
Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

This book has a surprising amount of mixed reviews, so I went into it not expecting much.

Truthwitch has a lot of good things in it, and a lot of things that could have been done better. In my opinion the world-building sucked. There were parts that didn’t get explained at all, like why was Iseult’s race hated?  What’s the background for Cahr Awen? And the worst was the war, that I wasn’t really sure why it was happening or who was fighting in it?

The characters however were well written. I loved the friendship between Iseult and Safi, I also wanted them to get together, which sadly did not happen. Iseult is badass and has a great backstory.  Safi is, like all fantasy main characters, the special one. But unlike most YA fantasy heroines, she actually manages to pull it off without being annoying or too stupid.   The love interest was really boring, why are all YA fantasy guys exactly the same? I don’t know it’s lame. In my opinion this book could have had no romance or a gay romance, sadly no one asked for my opinion. 😉   Aeduan was the only other decent character, though he was iffy at times.

Truthwitch is narrated by a ton of POV’s, which was annoying but then I always find it annoying so at this point I’m just learning to roll with it.   When I finished the book I felt that I would definitely read the second in this duology, but that Truthwitch wasn’t a 4 star book.  I ended up settling for 3.5. I’d say if you go into knowing it’s mediocre you can enjoy the read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

