Phoenix Award

sketch_20170328213502.jpeg

Earlier this week I was awarded the Phoenix Award by Callum McLaughlin. Which was a lovely surprise! I’m humbled that he thought of me, this is such a fun award. 🙂

Also I should mention this was originally started by Audrey ,  her idea was that: “Recipients of this award personify the Phoenix because they seemingly arise from ashes to thrive in strength, love, and setting a positive example of personal growth and rebirth for others.” 

So thanks so much to Audrey for starting the award, and to Callum for passing it my way. Callum also left some questions for me so I’ll answer those now. 🙂

  1. What made you decide to start a blog? Gosh it’s been so long ago I can’t even really remember.  When I was around 13-14, around the time that I started writing more seriously, I was following a plethora of blogs and they seemed so much fun. I guess I just thought to start one to see if I had fun with it. Which I did. I think I’ve moved from three different sites since then, but wordpress has definitely been my favorite.
  2. What one book would you urge everyone to read if you could? That would have to be Just Kids By Patti Smith.  This book is such a beautiful tale of love and art, it never fails to inspire me. Especially for fellow writers and artists I think this is a good book to read, it shows how far we have to go sometimes to work with what we love.
  3. What was the inspiration behind your lit mag, Cauldron AnthologyI was reading a book last year, titled Seduction and the Secret Power of Women: The Lure of Sirens and Mermaids. It’s a fantastic book and it was all about the mythology of Sirens and how it’s changed over the years.  I’ve always been fascinated by mythology and the more you look into it the more you realize that women had a more sacred space in the lives of ancient people, but the patriarchy has turned that around and even marred how we look at women in myths.  I realized that I wanted to write something that celebrated both women and mythology and a magazine seemed the best place to do this.
  4. What are some of your favorite non-bookish interests? My life basically revolves around writing, editing and reading these days. Grant thinks I stay inside too much. 😀  But besides that I do have an adorable cat that I take care of, and occasionally I like to go out to some of the local bars with friends.  I’m such an introvert.
  5. What one fact would you like people to know about you? Is it wrong of me to use this time to say that I’m starting work as a freelance editor? And that I’d love to work with anyone who wants an editor! This would be free of charge, but I’d really love it (if you like what I did) if you give me credit for the work, and recommend me to friends! I’m hoping to do 4 novels free of charge over the next few months.  If you’re interested let me know how best to contact you in the comments. 🙂

And now it’s time for me to nominate someone! I’m nominating my friend Sarah! She is a poet who never fails to inspire me, and she’s been working with me on Cauldron Anthology.  She recently published a chapbook of poetry, and she shares lots of her writing on her blog. Her work often has a quiet haunting quality to it that is simply stunning.

My questions for you are:

  • What first inspired you to write?
  • What is your chapbook about?
  • What are you currently reading?
  • What’s your favorite book?
  • What’s a random fun fact about you?

The Rules of Nomination (Paying It Forward)

  1. Nominate one recipient only, so as to preserve its authenticity and to keep it alive and thriving.
  2. Present the nominee with the award by notifying them.
  3. Provide a link to an excerpt of the blog that inspired your nomination, and a brief explanation of why you chose that post.
  4. 5 random questions may be asked to the recipient.
  5. Remember to appreciate the blogger who nominated you.
  6. Display your award for all to see and be proud to call yourself a Phoenix.
  7. Mention the creator of the award and please don’t let the chain die out.
12 thoughts on “Phoenix Award”

Leave a Reply

