A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

13496.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

I had read this book back when I was younger, like 17-18, and liked it but hadn’t been super interested in the rest of the series.  Then just last year I watched the TV show and fell in love with the characters and the world,  and decided to go back and read all of the books.

A Game of Thrones is a fantastic first book, I loved all the world-building and the introductions to all the characters.  It’s interesting seeing the slight differences in the TV show, little things like the characters seem to be a few years younger than they are in the book.  Daenerys Targaryen is 13 years old!

Maybe it was just me, but seeing the TV show helped to give faces to a lot of the characters that weren’t main characters.  The first time I read the book I wasn’t confused, but I would forget about characters. This time round I didn’t have that problem.  I could tell who Little Finger was, as well as other more secondary characters. And let me tell you, A Game of Thrones has a ton of those.

It’s hard to know who to recommend this book too. I know some people are bothered by, or simply just don’t like sex in books. If you’re one of those people you probably want to steer clear of this series.   This is also a long book, at 835 pages the reading can be long, though never boring.  Martin’s characters are all different and have different motives and desires.   This is one of the things Grant and I love about the series.  Motives, character’s fears and wants are all very clear and Martin isn’t afraid to let bad things happen to his characters.   I hope to someday be half the writer he is.

My rating for A Game of Thrones on Goodreads is four stars.

 

Leave a Reply

