A Darker Shade of Magic By V. E. Schwab

22055262

Goodreads Synopsis: Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.
Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.
Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.
After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.
Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

Again I’m behind the hype on a book, but hey at least it gives me time to form my own expectations. 🙂

A Darker Shade of Magic has a truly interesting world. Though a bit confusing to understand at first, you soon get the basic gist of it all and it doesn’t take away from the reading experience too much. You have a world that encompasses several different worlds, and a dark magic that’s spreading between them all. Of course because of this you have your hero who is the one and only savior, thankfully our main character Kell doesn’t have to much of a  special snowflake complex.

The magic in this world is pretty cool. From Kell’s changeling coat, to being able to pass between worlds and everything in between. I found myself fascinated with that part. And the writing is beautiful, Schwab does an excellent job describing the world.

The one thing about this book is it’s very predictable. The characters are really nothing new, nor are their actions. It’s easy to see who was going to die in the end, and I was really disappointed with Delilah’s “I’m different than other girls” attitude. I loved that Kell was a smuggler and collector, and I thought it was adorable that Delilah wanted to be a pirate.

I didn’t hate this book, I just didn’t love it.  I was never connected enough to the characters to feel much of anything for them. And I never cheered them on the way I wanted to.  Overall I would say it’s a fine book, and I am curious about the sequel.  3 stars.

Leave a Reply

