Miss Jane By Brad Watson

26530309

Goodreads Synopsis:  Inspired by the true story of his own great-aunt, Watson explores the life of Miss Jane Chisolm, born in rural, early-twentieth-century Mississippi with a genital birth defect that would stand in the way of the central “uses” for a woman in that time and place—namely, sex and marriage.

From the country doctor who adopts Jane to the hard tactile labor of farm life, from the highly erotic world of nature around her to the boy who loved but was forced to leave her, the world of Miss Jane Chisolm is anything but barren. Free to satisfy only herself, she mesmerizes those around her, exerting an unearthly fascination that lives beyond her still.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

I ended up grabbing this from my library because the cover is so pretty.

Miss Jane is a short book, my copy was 279 pages. It’s easy to read, the writing and overall flow of the story is well done well.  I guess in the end I was a little disappointed that the story wasn’t longer. I wanted to connect more to Jane and I felt like I didn’t have enough page time to do so. She’s an easy character to sympathize with, and the world of the book is well written.  It just felt like it could have been more.

I would recommend this book, I think it’s a very interesting historical fiction piece. I gave it 3 stars.

Leave a Reply

