Furthermore By Tahereh Mafi

28110143.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis: Alice Alexis Queensmeadow 12 rates three things most important: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. Father disappeared from Ferenwood with only a ruler, almost three years ago. But she will have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is Oliver whose own magic is based in lies and deceit. Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

This was quite an adorable read. I really loved it.  From the character of Alice, who would say wonderful things like “There is nothing you offer me that that I would want, you overgrown pineapple.”   Or doing things like: “He touched her arm, so, really, she had no choice but to punch him.”  To the world that was so vivid and unique.

Futhermore is an easy read despite being around 400 pages.  It’s a middle grade book, which I love to read on occasion. We all need to be brought back to the magic of childhood occasionally.  This book surprised me a little by being a little dark, Alice’s mother neglects her and because of this Alice goes through some tough times. She also deals with trying to appreciate her gifts and talents, and learns how make friends along the way.

I wish I had been able to read this book as a kid, I think I really would have loved reading it over and over again. As it is I think adults can still enjoy the adventure. I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

