Eliza and Her Monsters – By Francesca Zappia

31931941

Goodreads Synopsis: In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try. Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon. 

I got this book in one of my OwlCrate boxes, it’s actually one of the few of these books that I actually sat down to read right away.

Eliza And Her Monsters is a really cute book. Despite being 385 pages, it’s a fairly quick read.  Eliza is an easy character to get to know. For one she’s an introvert and that’s always relatable. She’s also an artist and a story teller, she writes a webcomic and I love comics so automatically I was hooked. For the most part I really liked Eliza, like I said, but there were times when I found her annoying. She’s really bratty to her parents for no good reason. Yes her parents don’t understand her as well as she would like them too, but they also try their best. They are honestly proud of her and love her, and are just trying to do their best as parents. And I also got it, it is annoying when parents are in your business all the time, so I didn’t mind some of her attitude. But there were times when she acted like she hated her parents, she would yell at them for no reason at all and that really bugged me. I wish she would have learnt to communicate with them better.

As for the other characters. I ended up really liking Eliza’s brothers. Their personalities really grew throughout the story. Eliza’s parents are great as well. Eliza’s friends Max and Emmy are also really great. I loved that this story brought up internet friends. Eliza’s never met either of her best friends in person, but it’s still a valid relationship and I liked that. Yay for internet friends!

The romance with Wallace wasn’t anything special, it follows the ups and downs of almost every relationship in books. They meet, fall in love, someone keeps something from the other person, other person finds out and is mad, they break up and then have to find a way to get together again. Wallace is a cute character, I have nothing against him, he just wasn’t the most interesting part of the story.

The only part of this book that could have been addressed better is Eliza’s anxiety. She obviously needed some therapy to help her with communication and interaction with people.  Therapy really does help people, it’s amazing how much it helps.  I really wanted to see Eliza at least start some sort of therapy treatment.

That said I did like this book, you should totally read it. 4 full stars from me!

Leave a Reply

