sylvia plath, submissions & camp updates

Note: This is an update from my Patreon, it’s a few days old but I liked it so I thought I’d republish it here. 

Last night I finished reading the Journals of Sylvia Plath. It was a long read and at times hard, but it was also very interesting because I found myself relating to her so much. It was like looking into a mirror. Like Plath I’m also married to a writer, like her I have depression and anxiety, I write poetry and want to be known as a writer. I loved reading her honesty, it was somehow comforting to know that even a well known writer like Plath could get writer’s block and fall into depression after rejections came in. I loved her life and vitality, I loved her love of people. It was such a great experience to read her journals, I recommend it to you all.

Because I was reading about Sylvia Plath I was inspired to write a few poems this week, and I even sent two into a magazine. Fingers crossed! I hope that at least one of them gets in. It’s been awhile since I’ve sent poetry out, but I have hope that my writing is getting better.

Camp NaNo is now in it’s 5th day.  This weekend has been crazy. I had no time to write, save a few hundred here and there. It was kind of depressing, but at the same time I was too busy to be bemoan it too much. I am now at 18k, and I have high hopes that I’ll make it to 20 before the week is done.

Leave a Reply

