Genna/Finn – By Hannah Moskowitz & Kat Helgeson

19254725

Goodreads Synopsis: Gena (short for Genevieve) and Finn (short for Stephanie) have little in common. Book-smart Gena is preparing to leave her posh boarding school for college; down-to-earth Finn is a twenty-something struggling to make ends meet in the big city. Gena’s romantic life is a series of reluctant one-night-stands; Finn is making a go of it with long-term boyfriend Charlie. But they share a passion for Up Below, a buddy cop TV show with a cult fan following. Gena is a darling of the fangirl scene, keeping a popular blog and writing fan fiction. Finn’s online life is a secret, even from Charlie. The pair spark an unlikely online friendship that deepens quickly (so quickly it scares them both), and as their individual “real” lives begin to fall apart, they increasingly seek shelter online, and with each other. 

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

At the time of reading this book I had already read two books by Moskowitz, one that I loved, the other that I felt more “meh” about. So I really wasn’t sure what to expect with this one.

I should start by saying, I usually love experimental books, and so when I started this book I thought I would like it.

Sadly I never connected with the characters. It was very confusing to figure out who was who, I know the names, Gena and Finn, but which one had a boyfriend? Which one was younger? It wasn’t until around page 100 that I finally was able to realize consistently who was narrating.

I also didn’t care about the fandom. Gena and Finn’s relationship builds over mutual love of a fandom. They would go on rants and discuss it, like fans do, which I didn’t have a problem with. My thing was, why should I care and/or spend my time reading rants from fictional characters about a fictional fandom? I literally do not care. I’m sorry. 😦

The sum up of my feelings for this book are, I just could never care and so I got bored. My confusion made the reading frustrating and so I just eventually gave up and only skimmed the last 30% of the book.

This just wasn’t the book for me, but I’m not going to tell anyone not to read it.   I gave it 2 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

