Parable of The Sower – By Octavia Butler

52397

Goodreads Synopsis: In 2025, with the world descending into madness and anarchy, one woman begins a fateful journey toward a better future Lauren Olamina and her family live in one of the only safe neighborhoods remaining on the outskirts of Los Angeles. Behind the walls of their defended enclave, Lauren’s father, a preacher, and a handful of other citizens try to salvage what remains of a culture that has been destroyed by drugs, disease, war, and chronic water shortages. While her father tries to lead people on the righteous path, Lauren struggles with hyperempathy, a condition that makes her extraordinarily sensitive to the pain of others. When fire destroys their compound, Lauren’s family is killed and she is forced out into a world that is fraught with danger. With a handful of other refugees, Lauren must make her way north to safety, along the way conceiving a revolutionary idea that may mean salvation for all mankind.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

This was actually a re-read for me. Originally I’d read it in 2014.

Parable of the Sower is a dark book, it’s set in the middle of an apocalypse and the characters have to do whatever they can to survive. The book terrified me the first time I read it, this time around it wasn’t so bad.

Lauren herself makes an interesting character. She’s strong, logical, and a natural leader. I love her character and plan on reading the next book in the series soley because of her. Lauren is a writer and also the founder of a church. She has a way of talking to people that makes them want to follow her. She also has a disease (I’m not sure if that’s the right word for it) that causes her to physically take on the pain of others around her. All of these make for a very well rounded character.

The plot is fast paced, it is (like I said before) at times frightening. This book does not shy away from the apocalypse and just make it a backdrop. The Parable of the Sower shows just how shitty the world and people can be. I really liked that even if it was disturbing.

The other characters are great as well. Most of them are people of color, I think there was one white guy in the main characters. It made the book very realistic to show the racial divide and how it added to the tension of the apocalyps.

The one thing I didn’t like about this book was the constant talk of religion. Lauren’s father is a christian pastor and Lauren ends up creating her own religion. It was annoying how much she went on and on about it. The book even shared bits of the religious text she wrote and to be honest I skimmed those parts. It just felt preachy and I didn’t want to read it.

Overall though I did like the book. I’m not sure it’s right to say that I enjoyed the book, seeing as it’s the end of the world. But I did think it was a well written book. Very thought provoking. I gave it 3.5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

