Whiskey Words & a Shovel III – By r.h. Sin

32894545

Goodreads Synopsis: r.h. Sin s final volume in the Whiskey, Words, and a Shovel series expands on the passion and vigor of his first two installments. His stanzas inspire strength through the raw, emotional energy and the vulnerability of his poems. Relationships, love, pain, and fortitude are powerfully rendered in his poetry, and his message of perseverance in the face of emotional turmoil cuts to the heart of modern-day life. At roughly 300 pages, this culminating volume will be his lengthiest yet.

“I hope something good finds you.”

So I thought I was getting the first book when I ordered this from my library, but apparently I was a goofball and got the third book.  Anyway…

Overall I found that I liked this book, but it wasn’t as good as I had been hoping.  I really liked the themes of the poems, the cover of the book, and the style of the poetry was good as well. I liked that it dealt a lot with relationships.

But I also felt like this book was super repetitive. After you get about halfway you start reading a lot of the same poems again. I felt like maybe it should have been shorter.

That said I do plan on going back and reading the first two Whiskey Words books, I think that r.h. Sin has a lot of talent and I’m excited to read more by him.

I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

