Adaptation – By Malinda Lo

Goodreads Synopsis: Reese can’t remember anything from the time between the accident and the day she woke up almost a month later. She only knows one thing: She’s different now.

Across North America, flocks of birds hurl themselves into airplanes, causing at least a dozen to crash. Thousands of people die. Fearing terrorism, the United States government grounds all flights, and millions of travelers are stranded.

Reese and her debate team partner and longtime crush David are in Arizona when it happens. Everyone knows the world will never be the same. On their drive home to San Francisco, along a stretch of empty highway at night in the middle of Nevada, a bird flies into their headlights. The car flips over. When they wake up in a military hospital, the doctor won’t tell them what happened, where they are—or how they’ve been miraculously healed.

Things become even stranger when Reese returns home. San Francisco feels like a different place with police enforcing curfew, hazmat teams collecting dead birds, and a strange presence that seems to be following her. When Reese unexpectedly collides with the beautiful Amber Gray, her search for the truth is forced in an entirely new direction—and threatens to expose a vast global conspiracy that the government has worked for decades to keep secret. 

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

I picked up this book because the main character is bisexual! Always great to see representation. 🙂

Right away I was hooked by the writing style and the realistic way things start to go to hell. I love apocalypse stories and this one felt so real. The story is suspenseful and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. Throughout the whole book I loved how well the tension was written.

The characters are also well written. I loved that Reese has a supportive and interactive mom, sometimes parents in YA just seem to disappear off the page. Not so in this book! Reese herself is a well written character as well. I enjoyed seeing her learn about her sexuality. I also thought her reaction to the strangeness around her was realistic, and I never felt like she was being whiny like some characters tend to be.

The plot was…interesting. For most of the book it kept my attention and I didn’t feel like I was predicting much. But I was not a big fan of the ending. It felt a little too easy how all the strings came together. And I dislike it when character die and are then brought back to life. It’s cliche at this point. Still I enjoyed 90% of the story.

I’m still not sure if I will read the second book in Lo’s duology. It doesn’t seem like it would be as good as the first and I don’t want to risk the love I have for the characters. In the end I gave Adaptation 4 stars.

Leave a comment